Goldman Sachs Case Competition

Last night I went to the final round of the 11th annual investment banking case competition hosted by Goldman Sachs. Undergraduates had an opportunity to form teams of 4 and analyze a Visa IPO case. The top 3 teams presented to a panel made up of Goldman, Visa, and Fidelity employees.

Former Goldman Chief Learning Officer, Dean Lyons, kicked things off for the night by thanking Goldman Sachs for their continued work with the Haas school.

The case: assuming it’s January 2008, should Goldman go through with an IPO of Visa? The teams gave their recommendations in a boardroom style presentation lasting 20 minutes each. All three teams were absolutely amazing and I was very much in awe for most of the night. They all recommended that Goldman go ahead with an IPO (and we of course know that they already did) and they outlined the pros and cons of an IPO, especially for the long term.
Team #3, made up of Tina Bao, Sebastian Cua, Simon Shen, and Brian Kim, was picked as the winner of the case competition. Major props to them.

I almost signed up for this case competition, but I saw a previous year’s case and I knew I wasn’t ready to value a company. One of the seniors told me that he learned a lot about valuation when he went to last year’s Valuation Workshop. This year the same workshop is being offered on October 19, and I made sure that I signed up on the first day that sign ups were open to juniors. I’ll be sure to post something about that when I go.

Leave a Reply

