Haas Undergraduate Class of 2013 – A New Chapter

Friday, April 29th, 2011, will go down in history as a day the Haas School of Business Class of 2013 will remember forever. While continuing Berkeley students learned of their admission in early February, transfer students were notified much later. As a newly admitted transfer student, this day definitely goes down in my books. As we all checked our admission status for the very last time, the wavering self debate was more prevalent than ever. Would the countless hours spent studying to keep up our gpa’s, the many weeks working and volunteering for various organizations, and the time spent preparing seven different drafts of our personal statements and applications (just to make sure they were absolutely perfect) finally pay off? After what seemed like a lifetime of waiting, it was finally confirmed. We will all be embarking on a new chapter in our lives. One that will challenge us intellectually, expand our level of professional connections, and lead us all on a new path of self discovery.

As soon as I learned of my admission, I wasted no time in learning as much as I could about the business undergraduate program and the diverse UC Berkeley community. Welcome day with the Vice Chancellor was the first official event I attended. Becoming a part of such an exceptional group of faculty, students, and supporters is something I can definitely get used to. Meeting so many other individuals with the same general goals and aspirations as me has truly been an enriching experience. It only gets better with the more people I meet. Learning about other students’ experiences, hardships, and distinct backgrounds really demonstrates the true cultural richness of UC Berkeley.

I have to say, the Haas School of Business has been my dream school for quite some time. I am guilty of spending quite a generous portion of my bank account at the student store my very first day on campus. Oh well. My closet now shines blue and gold. Go bears! As the first day of the semester is upon me, I have only a positive outlook on the next two years and beyond. The case competitions (hopefully I make the external case team!), student organizations, HBSA, late night study groups, memorable friendships, and even becoming an editor of this blog, are only a few of the many things that await me during this next chapter. Haas, I’m coming to you with an open mind and soul. It’s been a long time coming, but I can finally say, I’m proud to be a Golden Bear.

6 Replies to “Haas Undergraduate Class of 2013 – A New Chapter”

  1. Willy-
    I could not be more excited for the upcoming experiences and opportunities that will arise through my journey at Haas. Thanks for the response to the post!
    Ashley

  2. Congrats. Although I am not yet There yet, am trying to get into Haas for next year. Maybe will c u next year :-). Good luck to you and all the best

  3. Mukesh-
    Thanks, and yes, maybe I will see you here next year! Let me know if you have any questions or need any assistance with the application process. I know it can seem quite intimidating. I am here to help 🙂
    Ashley

  4. Thanks, Catherine! I’m very excited and happy to be a part of the Haas Blogger team! Looks like we’ll be working closely together. Looking forward to it!

    -Ashley

Leave a Reply

