Haas, Blogs and Pancakes

It’s past midnight and I’m staring at my computer screen with a coffee in hand, eating reheated pancakes and spam.

I’m trying to figure out what I can possibly write about Haas.  Haas is a difficult school to get into but even more difficult to describe.

You may be asking yourself, “What is the purpose of this blog, anyway?” The tagline says that it’s about “life in the undergrad program at Berkeley-Haas.”  So who is this blog for?  I hope if you’re already in Haas, you know what you’re life is like (reheated pancakes at 2am), so you probably don’t need this blog.  If you’ve graduated, you’re here to reminisce over glorious long nights of reheated flapjacks and get the inside-scoop on our current shenanigans.  You also probably don’t need this blog, but, hey, it’s a fun read.

The Michelle
This is a picture of me – it has little to do with pancakes or Haas.

However, if you’re a prospective student, you’re here to try to figure out what this Haas thing is all about.  You are doubtless already aware that Haas is a “vibrant community” full of “strong connections” and “opportunities for personal growth.”  That’s all spot on.  Not a day goes by that I am not thankful for all of those truths and the fact that my experiences at Haas will buoy me for the rest of my life.  But let’s be real – those definitions don’t offer you a tangible understanding of what daily life is like for an undergrad in Haas.

I’ll give it to you straight – it’s not easy.  Haas is jam-packed with success-driven, over caffeinated, leaders of tomorrow.  That’s not a bad thing. It creates a very strong culture and environment.  Everyone knows what they want and they are willing to work hard, day in and day out, to get it.  That’s good.  And it’s precious; chances are you’ll never be surrounded by such a high level of intelligence and gumption ever again.  But that means that “life in the undergrad program at Berkeley-Haas” is busy.  It’s full of extra-curriculars, problem sets, study groups, presentation preparations, officer meetings, pancakes, newspaper articles, x-lab appointments, networking events, career fairs, and the list goes on and on.

But “life in the undergrad program at Berkeley-Haas” goes far beyond just work and scheduled activities.  “Life” also includes the whole spectrum of emotions and attitudes that go with the program.  Emotions that beg to be talked about but are rarely mentioned.  The excitement of well-earned success. The exhaustion of perpetual competition.  The thrill of sneaking marshmallows into the library. The anxiety of failure.

The blog’s purpose, subsequently, is to give an authentic insider’s perspective of life in Haas, sparing no detail and withholding no emotion.  My goal is to talk about what life is like here in Haas – a genuine, up close look at real life from the real eyes of a real student.

This is my first post, and I signed up to be a contributor to the Blog because I love writing and communicating. I think this blog is important because it helps to create a place where students can discuss anything from Haas graduation requirements, to what they’re learning, to what they’re struggling with. I’m in my final year at Berkeley, delighted to have the opportunity to correspond with you this year and eager and nervous to see what comes after college.

If you read this whole post (1) kudos to you! (2) thank you! (3) please leave a comment!

In your comment, let me know a little about you: who you are, where you’re coming from, what you want to talk about in future posts, and what your favorite late night snack is.

Looking forward to getting to know you over many late night junk food feasts.

Michelle

3 Replies to “Haas, Blogs and Pancakes”

  1. Take courage and write a comment! Don’t have anything to say? This is an example comment:

    Hey Michelle, I’m Michelle and I’m also a senior Haas major! Pancakes are cool, but I prefer microwavable burritos. It’s weird that you’re actually looking for comments, but I think that it’ll be cool if you’re able to get a dialogue going!

  2. Being around Haas/preHaas people can be overwhelming. Case studies, recruiting, and problem sets, oh my! Sometimes I think they need to chill out and eat more pancakes and marshmallows [kudos to you].

Leave a Reply

