Career Profiles: Meixin (Tracy) Yang, Macy’s Retail Industry

Career Profiles is a series of posts that will feature Haas students who have accepted an internship or full time job offer across various industries. This one is on the Retail Industry.

2c95dd7Meixin (Tracy) Yang is a Haas senior with diverse leadership experiences. She has served as the Vice President for Global Leadership Society, where she built close relationships with sponsored companies and recruited senior management from corporations such as Tesla and Macy’s to host professional development workshops, and done marketing for Feeding Forward, where she created grassroots campaigns to recruit volunteers and partner restaurants or Berkeley’s homeless shelters. Tracy is currently the VP of University Relations for Berkeley Women in Business and Internal Team Strategist for the Spring Foundation. She has expertise in multiple areas of Finance, having interned for Bai Yun Finance Corporation as an Accounts Assistant in Guangzhou, China in 2011, and for Ernst & Young doing Assurance Services in San Jose. Nonetheless, she has decided to venture into the retail industry, pursuing a career path under Macy’s Executive Development program.

What made you pursue retail/marketing? What makes it so interesting to you?

It took me a year to figure out what I wanted. Going into Haas, I felt the school placed strong emphasis in the ABC industry. It was my Big 4 internship that made me realize how much I’d like to find a job that can be both challenging and interesting to me at the same time. I’ve always loved fashion. Moreover, going to info sessions hosted by Macy’s, and interacting with professionals and friends made me recognize my ability  to manage people (versus doing tasks first hand). The most interesting part of the job is having the responsibility of a manager as an entry level employee. The sense of ownership makes the job stand out to me.

You have interned for accounting firms and other financial institutions in the past. What made you decide to shift industries?

I recruited for the Big 4 because it was the most reasonable thing to do at that time. My father believes that I should be a CPA because it is stable and secure. However, my internship allowed me to realize my interests in interacting with people and meeting new faces. I was grateful to have my internship, I would not have been able to truly discover what my passion is had I not interned with EY. From my work experience with them last summer, I learned what mattered to me the most, and helped me choose the industry I want to work in.

You will be joining Macy’s after graduation. What role will you be taking on in the company?

I’m part of the Executive Development Program for store management. I will be a management trainee for around six months to one year (depending how fast you learn). I will move on become a department manager afterwards. As a Store Management EDP participant, “I’ll manage a multi-million dollar business and drive profitability for [the] department; I’ll also lead and inspire a team of between 15-25 associates, and execute the store side of [Macy’s] omnichannel strategy”.

Link below provides more insight: See “Career Path” for the career path of Macy’s Executive Development program (EDP): http://www.macyscollege.com/NewGrads/EDP/StoreManagement

How was the interview process? How was it different from your experience interviewing for accounting firms?

Macy's recruiting

The experience was great! Macy’s flew me to LA universals. We stayed at the Sheraton Hotel. Both the interviewers and the candidates were friendly and helpful. Compared to the accounting interviews, people are more approachable and appeared less competitive. In terms of content, Macy’s interviews are way more technical. For accounting, all interviews were purely behavioral. However, we had individual case and group case interviews with Macy’s, in addition to behavioral and situational interviews.

Do you have any advice would give other Haas and Cal students in general, who are also interested in either accounting or retail/marketing?

I think both industries are great! The key is networking. Talk to as many people/professionals as possible to figure out what is your passion and what kind of jobs will give you both a challenging, but rewarding experience.

Denice Sy
Class of 2014

Leave a Reply

