Haas Student-Athlete Profile: Andrea Earle | Field Hockey

Andrea Earle

Name: Andrea Earle

Major: Business Administration

Sport: Field Hockey

Graduation Date: May 2015

Continuing or Transfer: Continuing

What sport do you play and what position do you have on the team?

I play field hockey. Position-wise on the field, I was a forward and a midfielder, depending on the season and what we needed. For the team, I was more of an off-the-record captain, doing more behind the scene stuff. It was awesome. I contributed a lot to the team in that way.

Why did you choose to play this sport?

I started in high school. I picked up a stick and it was really similar to soccer, which I was into at the time. My mom got me into the sport randomly and we thought it would be a great way to be recruited. And I just fell in love with the sport. It’s fun to have a new challenge; once you master a sport in school, it could get boring after you play it for a number of years and field hockey was that new challenge for me, so I put everything I had into it. And so far it has led me down a really good path!

While I love my sport, academics have always been my number one priority. Picking a great academic school, which had a Division 1 Field Hockey team, was the perfect combination for me in the end.

Do you see yourself making a career out of this sport? Why or why not?

No, I don’t. I definitely want to implement some of the tools I’ve learned in field hockey to my professional career. Although you can definitely go to the Olympics for Field Hockey, I don’t want to make a career out of it.

So you go to the Haas School of Business. Do you feel that your sport has not only contributed to you getting accepted into Haas, but also allowed you to be successful in your business academic and professional careers?

As far as applying to Haas, Field Hockey was definitely a huge extra-curricular activity that I could reference in my application. I have used a lot of the tools that I have learned from Field Hockey. For instance, team chemistry and being able to openly communicate with people, my interpersonal skills, have been two big tools that I have been able to utilize while studying at the Haas School of Business.

I believe that I already came into Haas with a really strong work ethic; so while Field Hockey has allowed me to perfect time management and perseverance, I believe that my own inherent strong work ethic has truly allowed me to be successful in balancing my sport and academics while studying at Cal.

What is it like being a student-athlete at Haas (describe a day in the life of a student-athlete)? What resources do you get for being a student-athlete? Is it easier or harder to dedicate time to your academic career when you have a demanding lifestyle from your sport?

I definitely think that academics have always been a priority in my eyes, so trying to balance that with my sport is always my focus day in and day out. We do get a lot of resources to help us along the way, such as the tutors and the High Performance Center, however, I only use those when I really need it. They are great resources and I’m fortunate to have them. I don’t know if those have led me to my success at Haas, but I do know that being a student-athlete, while having the opportunity to go to Haas and Cal, has been the best experience of my life and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Okay, so the day in the life of a student-athlete. Here is what my busiest day would look like during last semester. We have practice in the morning and then class after. Sometimes after class, we would have a team meeting as well. Typically, I would get up at 5:30AM if we have a 5:45AM practice. Last semester we were commuting to Stanford University for practice because our field was under construction. So I would get on the bus at 5:45AM and we would get to Stanford around 7:30AM and make it back in time for class by 11:00AM. I know it is a lot of travelling in the morning, but I’m fortunate to be able to eat, be social with my teammates and study while commuting every morning. As athletes, we make it work and we adjust our lifestyle to be able to find time to balance studying and training well for our sport.

When I get home from practice, I try to change out of my Cal athletic attire, sometimes to no avail because I stick out like a sore thumb, so I can look presentable for class. Other than that, I go to class until 2:00PM or 3:00PM, try to finish my chunk of my homework right after, maybe relax a bit after that, grab something to eat, sometimes go to a team meeting or event if it’s during meet season, and then go to bed at a reasonable hour. Then it starts all over again. It’s very routine; but as a 5th year and as a student-athlete, I know what my body needs and rest is very important.

While Fall semester is our competitive season, I would say that the Spring semester (season) is much more difficult, not only in terms of training but also in terms of classes. Typically, during my off-season, I take more difficult courses and I am training a lot harder. In addition to practice, I have weight training.

Do you foresee yourself going into a career that is tied to the sports industry?

I did intern for Nike last summer up in Beaverton in Sports Marketing. It fit with my lifestyle perfectly because I was able to train while having an internship. I was having a great time. At Nike, I did Sports Marketing for the NFL and college football.

However, I am actually pursuing a full-time offer with Hershey in outside sales once I graduate. I was against sales, initially. However, I really liked the company and program that they were offering me. There’s definitely room for growth with this company and that is what I am looking forward to.

Having gone to school as a student-athlete, is there anything that you wish to change in your experience here at Cal and Haas? If not, what is the most important thing you have gotten from being a student-athlete at Haas?

It took me a while to figure out time management and being constantly aware of my health. So, I wish I could have implemented some of the health tactics that I know now back then so that I wouldn’t have gotten injured in my sport. I also wish I could have joined a sorority. I love all my teammates and the sports community; however, I would have loved to have the opportunity to branch out and meet people outside of the sports community.

One memorable experience I have had as a student athlete … I think just being able to get accepted into the Haas School of Business has been such a great experience so far.   I have loved all the classes that I have taken here and I am so glad that I decided to take all the hard prerequisites, in addition to working hard in all other aspects at Cal, so that I could get into Haas. It’s very prestigious and I don’t take it for granted.

What I have really learned form being a student athlete is time-management. Being able to balance everything. I’ve learned to deal with anything that comes my way and make it work in my favor. I was working at the RSF and now I’m a tutor at the SLC (Student Learning Center), I was competing in my sport and studying at Haas. Yet, I was still able to have a life! You definitely can make it work and time-management has been key to my success in doing so.

Andrea Earle

Leave a Reply

