The Haas Undergraduate Blog Team (2015-2016)

The Haas Undergraduate Blog is a platform dedicated to providing an “insider perspective” into life as a student at Haas. It aims to serve as a valuable resource for Haas alumni, as well as current, non-major, incoming, and prospective Haas undergraduates, who are interested in learning about the culture and current happenings in the prestigious business program.

The Haas Blog is recruiting for new members to join our team. Bloggers do not have to be experienced, but should enjoy writing short blog posts about Haas-related topics that they feel enthusiastic about. Authors have freedom and flexibility to choose whatever subjects to write about as long as they commit to publishing at least two article per month.

Visit our recruitment page for more information.


Presently, we have a diverse group of bloggers ranging from various backgrounds: continuing, transfer, international, and out-of-state, we have it all. With that being said, I introduce you the team for the academic school year of 2015-2016!

IMG_2912
UG Blog Welcome Dinner with our Advisor, Dinko Lakic

10274170_10152040992503091_7786344439874355947_n

Hi everyone! My name is Isabelle Lee and I am a 4th year Business Administration major. I was born and raised in Southern California. This past summer I had the opportunity to work at Yelp in San Francisco in their marketing & strategy division. My professional interests include Investment Management , Risk Consulting, Technology, and Social Entrepreneurship.

In Berkeley, I am actively involved in Haas Student Business Association as well as the Korean American Student Association. In my free time I enjoy creating memories with friends and family, traveling, fashion, trying out new places to eat, and playing sports such as volleyball, lacrosse, and golf. I joined the blog as Co-Manager to create a living record of my time at Haas as well as share Haas-related opportunities to fellow peers and ultimately write about anything that’s on my mind.


IMG_0974Hello! My name is Sonia Seghir and I am a 4th year Business Administration major. I was a junor transfer from Diablo Valley College. Wohoo! Go transfers! I am interested in pursing marketing and this past summer I had the opportunity to intern with Unilever in Chicago.

I was born in Paris and then spent much of my childhood living in Algeria. I moved to the United States when I was eight and have lived in the Bay Area since. In my free time, I enjoy hanging out with friends and family, traveling, supporting my brothers’ soccer games, and working with the youth.

As a prospective student, I enjoyed following the Haas Undergraduate Student Blog and hearing the insider stories of such a close-knit community. Today, I am very excited to be a part of the Haas Undergraduate Blog to share my experience and journey. I look forward to meeting many of you and creating #haassome memories!


kendal-madden-lowres-0559-003

My name is Kendal Madden, and I am excited to finish my last year at Haas while being able to share my perspective with you through the Haas Undergraduate Students Blog.  I began at Cal as a freshman in the fall of 2012, and by the end of my sophomore year declared as a Business Administration and Media Studies simultaneous degree major.

While at Cal I have become very passionate about my involvement with the organization Berkeley Women in Business.  I currently hold the position of President and work to provide the best resources available to women looking to develop themselves professionally and navigate their way through corporate America.

Off campus I am pursuing my interest in the online media industry. This summer I worked for CBS Interactive as an intern for the Mobile Product team. Outside of work and school my hobbies include painting, martial arts, and travel.  I absolutely love the outdoors- hiking, camping, and exploring Berkeley!  With my wide breadth of interests, I am always open to new experiences. Writing for the Haas Undergraduate Students Blog gives me the unique opportunity to share those experiences with you!


jessicaJessica Ou is a 4th year Business Administration and Social Welfare major. Outside of her studies, she is passionate about human rights, women and economic empowerment, and social entrepreneurship. She hopes to pursue a career in investment banking and eventually enter the public policy and non-profit sector.

At Haas, Jessica is involved in Delta Sigma Pi and Berkeley Women in Business. She has been a research apprentice for Professor Jennifer Chatman and is a volunteer mentor in the Young Entrepreneurs at Haas program. She currently teaches the only student-led personal finance class on campus, UGBA 198 Money Management Coaching. She is excited to blog about life at Haas and highlight the amazing things Haas students do.

Outside of Haas, Jessica serves as a UC System-wide Representative, representing over 250,000 UC students as the student representative on the UCUES Standing Committee. She is an Advisory Board member for UNICEF’s Chinese Children Initiative, an Executive Council member for the United Nations International Youth Council, a Youth Advisory Council member for Crisis Text Line–the world’s first 24/7 teen text hotline, and the California Youth Ambassador for Youth Service America.

In her free time, Jessica spends many hours a week counseling teens in crisis and is a contributor for USA TODAY and a blogger for the Huffington Post. She also has been web programming and graphic designing since she was six years old, and has recently designed the UI of three apps.


IMG_20150405_125641 (1)Katherine Krive is currently a 3rd year Business Administration major pursuing her interests in marketing and consulting. She recently transferred from the Santa Rosa Junior College and is thrilled to continue living in the Bay Area. Having traveled through over sixteen countries she can state definitively that Northern California is her favorite place to be.

She is enjoying the extremely social and stimulating atmosphere at Haas and looks forward to meeting more of her class in the next two years. In her free time she also enjoys eating delicious food, posting that delicious food on social media, and spending time with the amazing people she’s met here in Berkeley. Before applying to transfer, Katherine utilized the Haas Undergraduate Student Blog to learn more about the culture and program here at Haas. She is excited to be able to give back to the community by sharing her experiences through the blog!


nicminNicolas Min is a third year student pursuing a degree in Business Administration at the Haas School of Business. He was born in San Diego, but has spent most of his life at Seoul, Korea. He has traveled a lot in his life spending years at Frankfurt, Germany and Shanghai, China. Just before coming to Berkeley, he went to high school in Dallas, Texas (Fun Fact: He has never gone to a same school more than two years, yet).

In Berkeley, he is involved in the ASUC working in the Legal Office as well as in the research project on U.S. Economy and Globalization under Professor Edelstein’s mentorship. As he wrote in his Haas application, he values being a “student always” and hopes to pursue a career where he can enjoy learning something every day.

He joined the blog team this semester wanting to share his thoughts about Haas and present diverse aspects of the school to both Haas and non-Haas majors at Berkeley.


Sammy Tong is a third year studying Business Administration and Sociology. She is what a lot of people call a Third Culture Kid. Growing up in Hong Kong, Canada, and Maryland, she has grown to love new environments.

Sammy has always enjoyed creative writing but this will be her first official blog besides those ones she had here and there. She wanted to join the Haas Undegrad Blog because she will be studying abroad Spring semester and wants to share the full experience with her peers. Many say that studying abroad as a junior is difficult due to recruiting so she wants to share her tips and tricks on how to overcome this barrier!


DanaSiegelHeadShot (1)I’ve transitioned from a Newport Beach island dweller to an enthusiastic Cal Bear. I’m proud to have earned a place on the Dean’s Honor Roll as a third year, double major in the Haas Undergraduate Business Administration program and Legal Studies in The College of Letters and Science. I’m an active participant in the Berkeley community through my roles as Vice President of Order of Omega, an all Greek honor and leadership society, and as a member of the Student Gift Campaign. My experiences are widely varied and include planning large, philanthropic fundraising events, most recently in Berkeley as Vice President of Philanthropic Service for the Sigma Kappa sorority, benefiting the Alzheimer’s Association. I’ve had an interesting journalism career as Editor of three high school papers (two of which were launched by me). I have created digital marketing, designs, and advertisements. I’ve combined an active social life with serious academic pursuits. I spent this past summer taking law courses from The University of Massachusetts, Amherst. My involvement in Haas and my legal studies course work have reaffirmed my desire to continue my education in law and business. The intricacies, complications, craftsmanship, and creativity used in navigating our legal system and managing businesses are both intriguing and exciting to me.  GO BEARS!


Yifei Ding_008499_ (1)

Yifei is a junior majoring in Business Administration and Economics. She is a Bay Area native from Fremont, California. Her interests include singing, playing guitar, swimming, and scouting out new coffee shops. On campus, she is involved in Alpha Kappa Psi, URAP (Undergrad Research), and YEAH (Young Entrepreneurs at Haas). This past summer, Yifei interned as a business analyst at Cisco in Global Strategy and Services and at Gainsight in Business Operations.


YYcDb5DPCZn_QvB-ptMnnpQcB1JqsSGHZ4BWj6sj_HM

This is my third year at Cal but my first year in Haas. I am super excited to be apart of the blog team. I grew up in the Central Valley (yes there exists a region outside of NorCal and SoCal) in the very hot town of Fresno,CA. I am really passionate about traveling but my absolute favorite thing to do is read. I loooove historical fiction novels! I also recently got into cooking so if you have any recipes you want to share, don’t hesitate to look me up!

Professionally, my goal is to start my own business one day. I am considering the hospitality industry although I have a passion for nonprofit work that focuses on education. I am involved in several student organizations on campus as well as Stiles Hall.


SooSongHello, I’m Soo! I was born in Seoul, Korea but consider my hometown to be Palo Alto, CA. I’m currently double majoring in Linguistics and Business Administration, which combines my love of languages and people with my interest in content creation and CSR. On campus, I am heavily involved with an amazing group called Blueprint. We create technologies for nonprofits powering change in the community and aim to link tech with social good. I’m also an avid musician, having played cello for over a decade.
As I study abroad at Hong Kong University this semester, I’m excited to share some of my experiences and lessons via this blog. I hope you can join me as I keep learning and writing!”


As you can see we have an amazing group who is dedicated to bring the best content on the blog. Anyone that wants to work with this awesome group of people please go ahead apply as we are currently recruiting for more bloggers. We look forward to receiving your applications!

Leave a Reply

