HBSA Election: Candidate Platforms (2016-2017)

HBSA Election – 2016 Voter Guide

hbsa-logo

Please note candidates are listed in alphabetical order by position.

Voting for HBSA Elections will take place beginning at 8am on Monday, April 4th, 2016 – 8pm on Friday, April 8th, 2016 via Campus Groups. Until then, please take a few minutes and carefully read though the HBSA 2016 Voter Guide below.

Grace Lee 

Grace Lee

President

Through my service as the HBSA VP of Technology & Communications and Axe Cohort Leader, I’ve realized HBSA has become my genuine passion because its purpose directly aligns with the matters close to my heart: the business education at Haas and student government. HBSA has challenged me, helped me grow, and made me understand what can be done for the Haas community I love. Now, I want to drive impact on a larger scale for this community we will have a stake in for a lifetime beyond graduation. My current involvement includes creating the HBSA website from scratch, spearheading Business Week’s video, social media campaign and photobooth, and providing resources for Pre-Haas and Transfer students. My work is rooted in 3 pillars: Community, Service, and Representation, inspiring specific platforms and initiatives I will continue to execute as President. I am well equipped to sustain and improve the many things HBSA has built this year such as our first Business Week, Mentorship Programs, and Case Competition Series, and developed strong relationships with MBA officers and undergraduate program office in this process to advocate for you. My platforms include (1) working with HBSA Executives to create a Farewell Seniors Haas Gala to celebrate graduating seniors and Haas community (2) scaling the MBA mentorship pilot program for all students, and (3) revamping the Cohort Program to better serve students. I encourage you to visit my Facebook page for more of my platforms and look forward to hearing your thoughts through this election process.

 

Mitchell Quon 

Mitchell Quon

Executive Vice President

As the Executive Vice President of HBSA, my goal is to bridge the connection between students in Haas, the Haas administration and the professional world. As someone that strives to create change whenever there is untapped potential, I envision HBSA as the student government that can develop and implement new solutions to create a better business community here at UC Berkeley. My platform consists of three goals:

(1) Provide more opportunities for students to better prepare for technical and case interviews – Currently, the Career Center offers mock interviews that prepare students for behavioral interviews, but it does not provide help with preparing for case interviews or technical interviews. My goal is to create a program where students can sign up for practice case or technical interviews with experts in their potential careers. (2)Create resources to help students develop their technical skills – Many Haas students do not feel they are sufficient with their technical skills (Excel, Access, Tableau, SQL) and want to have more proficiency with them before entering into internships or full- time position. My plan is to partner with experts in these tools that can help Haas students become more confident in their technical skills. (3) Connect the Haas community with other academic disciplines. – Business is a multi-disciplinary field that requires the perspective of people from different non- business backgrounds. By implementing opportunities such as Interdisciplinary Business Week or themed case competitions that combine different majors such as Public Health and Legal Studies, I believe more diverse minds can be integrated to join forces and create better solutions.

 

Rushil Surapaneni 

Rushil Surapaneni

Vice President of Finance

Hello everyone! It is my honor to run for the VP of Finance on the platform of developing our resources to continue to enrich our academic and social experiences at Haas. My plans of action include 1) Developing the opportunity to work with organizations and individuals both on and off campus through using our funds for the benefit of the Haas student body with incentives as scholarships and awards to students, 2) Continuing to seek possible sponsorships with businesses to increase our pool of resources, 3) Allocating more funds to social activities both on and off-campus that will benefit us in regards to professional networking and getting to know everybody in the student body better, and 4) Having the budget approved to keep our ASUC sponsorship. I’ve worked as the treasurer for multiple organizations on-campus and I know both the highs and lows that come with the job and how to respond to situations of varying degrees. Our Haas community is one that I hold dear to me and is a community that is truly unlike any other on campus. I would love for the opportunity to serve all of you so we can make our time at Haas the best it can be and ensure a strong foundation for our Haas family to continue to grow and evolve. That is my ultimate goal and if elected, I will work to the best of my abilities to ensure financially we remain healthy and active.

 

Kelly Bo

Kelly Bo

VP of MBA & Alumni Relations

My name is Kelly Bo and I am running to be your Vice President of MBA & Alumni Relations. My experience as a Decal facilitator and a participant in the Leadership Program at KPMG has given me the skills and knowledge to facilitate strong relationships among students and build networks with professionals. My goal is to build a strong community among Haas undergraduates, MBA students, and Haas alumni by hosting networking events, as well as the development of two key programs: the existing MBA mentorship program and a new Haas externship program. Many Haas students have voiced their desire to connect with MBA students and learn from their experiences. MBA students come from different backgrounds and industries and make perfect mentors for undergraduate students. I would like to extend the MBA mentorship program to all Haas students so that they are equipped with the necessary knowledge to navigate through their careers upon graduating. In addition, I would like to start a Haas externship program where Haas alumni would allow current Haas students to come and shadow them at work for a few days during winter break or the school year. As a participant in the Berkeley externship program during my freshman year, I can attest to how valuable that exposure to real- world working experience was, and I would like to extend this opportunity to Haas students by creating a program where more business opportunities are offered to them. I look forward to creating astrong network for all of you.
Sanjana Sathya

Sanjana Sathya

VP of MBA & Alumni Relations

Hello! My name is Sanjana and I would love to serve as your next Vice President of MBA and Alumni Relations. I know we are all extremely proud to be part of the Haas community, but what actually sets us apart? Our Haas experience is unique not only due to the knowledge we gain from outstanding professors, but also the exceptional networking opportunities outside the classroom. My goal is to bring networking, mentorship, and collaborative learning to the forefront of our undergraduate experience. I hope to accomplish this through 3 main objectives: (1)Establish an MBA-Undergraduate mentorship program to pair undergrads with MBAs, (2)Host monthly MBA- Undergraduate joint events such as Happy Hours and career and skill workshops, and (3)Create a Haas alumni database that spans various industries and helps you easily connect with alumni. Working at the Full-Time MBA office, I have interacted with many MBAs who are excited to help undergrads succeed. I would love to serve as the link between these two communities. Furthermore, as a Class of 2017 Cohort Leader and a mentor for the Haas Undergraduate Mentorship Program, I am committed to serving the Haas community.

 

Hank Sze

Hank Sze

VP of Professional Development

As a recent transfer student coming into Haas, I have been lucky enough to work with people coming from all walks of life and socioeconomic backgrounds. This background has influenced me to have a constant curiosity in exploring various career fields. Through my experience working as the Career Development Committee Chair at Ascend and my personal network at the Haas community, I have noticed many Haas students have the same characteristics as I do. Knowing that the majority of Haas graduates go to “ABC” industries, I aim to expand the spectrum of HBSA’s professional events towards non-ABC career paths. By doing so, I want to not only serve those who are pursuing career in non-ABC field, but I also plan to provide a different career perspective for those heading towards ABC industry. Below are the four main platforms I will implement as the VP of Professional Development, and I sincerely ask for your support to help me create a diverse and resourceful professional environment for the Haas Community!! (1)Increase the frequency of professional workshops that focuses on helping students get an insider look of different career paths (2)Host more workshops/ case competitions to help students get hands-on experience in solving real-world business problems (3)Invite professors/professionals that have expertise in corporate recruitment or human resources matter to conduct interview/resume preparation workshop. (4)Cooperate with VP of MBA & Alumni Relations to set up resume critique or mock interview between MBA and Undergrad according to their intended career paths.

 

Jennifer Hwang

Jennifer Hwang

VP of Professional Development

As the Vice President of Professional Development, I hope to 1) Increase support and resources available to students going through recruiting processes 2) Coordinate additional workshops, case competitions and teach- ins to better prepare students for interviews 3) Host career panels with MBA students to better connect undergraduate and graduate students at the Haas School of Business.
Ken Suh

Ken Suh

VP of Student Affairs

As the Vice President of Student Affairs, my main focus will be creating an inviting, comprehensive, and empowering experience for underclassmen who are pursuing Haas and business as a career. I am passionate about this cause because I remember how lost and overwhelmed I felt as an underclassman about the process of getting into Haas and succeeding in the field of business. It was such a stressful time that not only affected my studies and social life, but also my health. I was only able to persevere with the encouragement of some upperclassman Haas mentors who advocated for me and provided useful advice. I want to make the overall experience of pursuing business at Berkeley a positive and enriching experience for incoming students by focusing on providing mentorship and support, just as I received. I plan to do this by not only continuing, but also further developing the Haas Mentorship Program by turning it into the ultimate resource for underclassmen. In addition to serving future Haas students, I also want to support the current Haas students in the area of professional development by having consistent resume and interview workshops. Finally, I want to help facilitate more recruiting opportunities for Haas students not only in the ABC’s but also in other areas of business, such as entertainment or real estate, by bringing in more corporate representatives and recruiters from many different industries to Haas.
 

Tran Kim 

 

VP of Student Affairs

I want to serve my school and help it become the best program in the nation.
Noor Gaith

Noor

VP of Technology & Communications

I would like to attain more computers for the Haas undergrads to access and further deploy a personalized campus wide wireless system in Haas and other academic buildings with 100% proliferation. Additionally, I seek to better communications between Haas undergraduates, MBAs, and alumni to assemble a vast network of career opportunities.
Soo Song

Soo Song

VP of Technology & Communications

Hello! As an associate on HBSA’s Technology- Communications committee and the External VP of Blueprint, a student org that creates technologies for nonprofits, I’ve seen firsthand the power of technology in connecting communities and changing how they approach problems. This spring, I worked on creating the first ever Pre- Haas welcome guide and helped coordinate #HaasBizWeek. I am well- versed in WordPress and using code for our HBSA website. If elected, I have three areas of focus: a) transforming the website into an easily accessible resource hub for all students, b) increasing the effectiveness of online communications (i.e. social media) to keep our student body better informed, and c) creating more channels for feedback on Haas Computing Services and undergraduate technological support. I’m excited to work on making our online Haas community even stronger – and for your greater benefit!

 

Angie Nguyen

Angie Nguyen

VP of Marketing 

My name is Angie Nguyen, and I am thrilled to be a candidate for HBSA’s Vice President of Marketing. During my time in this position, I will enhance HBSA’s online presence by executing creative social media campaigns and increasing content consistency across all social media platforms. With the goal of further fostering the sense of community at Haas, I will utilize social media as a platform to engage online users and showcase current Haas students. Aside from increasing online presence, I plan to increase HBSA’s physical presence by developing more apparel designs and marketing materials. I aim to establish a partnership between HBSA and a local printing business so the association can develop marketing materials that are more captivating and aesthetically appealing to the students at Haas. My time as HBSA’s VP of Marketing during the current Spring 2016 semester has been an incredible experience and I would love the opportunity to further contribute to Haas during the next academic year.
Yasi Afsharnive

Yasi

VP of Marketing 

I want to improve the way Haas students are perceived by the rest of the Berkeley community. I want to work to market Haas as an inclusive, welcoming environment, encouraging collaboration between many majors. I also want to work to better publicize HBSA events, increasing attendance and improving communications within the Haas community.

Leave a Reply

