Welcome to Slytherin

Hello! My name is Annie. I’m a junior and a new undergraduate Haas blogger. I love Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Lattes, shopping, and long walks on the beach. This blog post is about my first impressions of Haas.
pumpkin-spice-today-160906-tease-01_cee7bfb18eebca7d473f16b5fd3c33ec.jpg
_____________________________________________________________________________

My whole childhood I wanted to be in Gryffindor with Harry Potter and Hermione Granger. Yet here I am in Slytherin, following after the footsteps of Draco Malfoy and Lord Voldemort.

As I headed to the House of Serpents, I had a few first impressions:

  • I will probably never use this backpack, but I want it because it’s free.
  • $200 worth of free printing!!
  • The MBA students look way more put together than me.
  • No, I am not that interested in consulting or being a part of a Goldman Sachs case competition, but thank you for the 10,000 emails.

I was nervous as to whether or not I needed to be a Parselmouth to find my community at Haas. As someone interested in marketing in the retail and consumer packaged goods industry, I was not sure if I would fit into a place that so highly emphasizes consulting and investment banking. With only 700 undergraduates, I have already noticed that I see the same people over and over again, so it could be difficult to find people that match my interests within marketing. However, being surrounded by people with different interests gives me the chance to interact people with diverse interests, expanding my own background. I’ve come to realize that Haas is an unique place where different people bring different things to the table. There’s a place for everyone, regardless of business interest.

After a month at Haas, I can say that I have met many people that exemplify the principle Confidence Without Attitude. It is a pleasure to be in a graduating class with such hard-working, ambitious, and interesting people. I hope I can learn from not only my peers but also my professors. It is an honor to be taught by professors who have valuable industry experience such as Professor Brady who was the CMO of Clorox Company for over 10 years, or Professor Thomas who owns her own production company. Professor Brady has quickly become one of my favorite professors and UGBA 162A (Product Branding and Entertainment) has quickly become one of my favorite classes. So, maybe Haas is not full of the snakes like people make it out to be, and it’s actually just another Gryffindor in disguise.

I can’t wait to take advantage of all the opportunities we have to meet people here as an undergraduate, and to expand our networks. As undergraduates we have so many resources at our disposal that really improves the college experience. Hopefully like Assistant Dean Erika Walker, I can, too, find my husband here.

Haas-School1

I can’t wait for my next two years exploring this magical part of campus. What were your first impressions?

Make sure to subscribe at the top right to stay updated on life at Haas!

Leave a Reply

